St Abbs Marine station has an agreement with Edinburgh Napier University and Heriot-Watt University to collaborate together on a broad range of research matters. This involves the part-time secondment of senior research staff from the two universities to St Abbs Marine Station as Co-Directors of Research in order to lead an innovative and challenging research programme at the facility.

This tri-partite agreement is an innovative example of structured co-operation between publicly and privately funded marine science bodies.

We are working with the two universities on a wide range of matters of scientific interest and concern affecting the marine environment.

Co-Director of Research Edinburgh Napier University:

Dr Karen Diele –

Co-Director of Research Heriot-Watt University:

Dr Bill Sanderson –

MASTS logo 383x383

St Abbs Marine Station is an Associate Member of the Marine Alliance for Science and Technology for Scotland (MASTS), a consortium of organisations engaged in marine science.

We are particularly grateful to the MASTS’s executives for their support and encouragement throughout the development of the St Abbs Marine Station project.